There have been several themes to these weeks with Eric out of the country. I like that they have continued to build on top of one another to really deepen my understanding of where my faith needs to go…I don’t do very well with holding multiple unrelated topics in my head.

One thing that has now come up many times is the concept of making a legacy. Eric and I talked about this a bit in our premarital counseling and it’s now been mentioned by Mark Driscoll, Beth Moore, and my sister. So…I’ve been thinking about it a lot in the context of what needs to change in my pursuit of God that will enable me to leave a good legacy? The idea of a legacy is that we all come from different backgrounds…some are messier than others but all are in some way dysfunctional. Each of us has the opportunity to either pass on negative traits we’ve inherited (by genetic predisposition or behaviors/attitudes witnessed at home) or put an end to them. In an effort to improve my prayer life I’ve started to journal through Psalms because, well, David had some awesome prayers. He was honest when he was in pain or didn’t understand what God was doing and it seems like getting his thoughts out always led him to the same conclusion: God is Sovereign and majestic and powerful. And He knows us completely and loves us anyway. We can rejoice in that.

I came across this Psalm a couple of days ago:

“Walk about Zion, go around her,
number her towers,
consider well her ramparts,
go through her citadels,
that you may tell the next generation
that this is God,
our God forever and ever.
He will guide us forever.” Psalm 48:12-14

The whole chapter was about admiring Zion and these last verses really caught my attention. I have a hard time staying focused when I am spending time with the Lord and reading this Psalm really highlighted that. But that line “that you may tell the next generation” tied it all in to legacy in my head. Each of us need to stand in awe of God. We will each make our own observations of His many traits as His hand guides us through life. And we can pass those experiences on to the next generation. I have the privilege of having a mom and dad who love Jesus and share with me what He is doing in their lives. I really want to be able to pass that on. To show them “that this is God, our God forever and ever. He will guide us forever.

Eric gets home tomorrow. TOMORROW! I woke up so anxious this morning. I just want him to get here. It’s been a good 6 weeks. They will make the next two weeks great and the following 70+ years even better. I’m thankful for them…and thankful they are almost over.

