The great thing about not really having anything to do for week 2 of LDI? A lot of time with Jesus and time to blog=)

Eric and I are trying to get our morning routine figured out as school/real work approaches in the next few weeks. We’re both morning people, which is handy, but we want to find out how early we need to get up to be able to spend time in the Bible and prayer without feeling rushed. Let me just tell you, in the morning after I’m out of bed, I am all about waking up early. But when the alarm goes off or as I’m crawling into bed thinking about the time I will have to wake up…I don’t feel like such a morning person. So what’s been funny is that Eric turns off his phone alarm kind of on autopilot. He lays back down and immediately falls asleep again. It’s been interesting to try to convince myself to wake him back up because when the alarm goes off, I’m awake! But don’t want to be. I can only think of a handful of times that I have not overslept on purpose in college. I should probably work on that…

An article I read on spiritual leadership by John Piper gave George Mueller as an example. One of the chapters of his autobiography is titled “How to be Constantly Happy in the Lord” and he discusses the trial and error he went through to figure out how to start his day well. He realized that he could not start the day in prayer because he had trouble focusing (I’m definitely in that boat) and he instead starts with reading the Word…his meditation eventually turns into prayer. He calls this making his soul happy. I loved reading that part. I’m a morning person because that’s when I am the most productive but if I don’t start that productivity off with making my soul happy, I’m not the nicest person.

I started off yesterday morning with reading a few chapters of the beginning of Ezekiel. It was depressing. God is fed up with idolatrous people of Israel and is telling them their fate through the prophet Ezekiel. I decided I couldn’t end my time in the Word on that note so I flipped to the Psalms and landed on Psalm 91.

“He who dwells in the shelter of the Most High
will abide in the shadow of the Almighty.
I will say to the Lord, ‘My refuge and my fortress,
my God, in whom I trust’…
Because you have made the Lord your dwelling place–
the Most High, who is my refuge–
no evil shall be allowed to befall you,
no plague come near your tent.” (v. 1-2, 9-10)

My soul was definitely happy.

And this time with the Lord really helped me with the rest of the day. This year will be full. But I’m looking forward to it because I know God has been teaching me the necessity of finding quiet amongst the chaos. That’s really hard to do…my mind is always running in many different directions. Analyzing an interaction I just had, to-do lists for work/home, appointments, etc. I was amazed at how alert I was while reading and how in sync I felt. Feelings never last but if I take note of what works and what doesn’t, when the emotions wear off I can still keep doing it because I know I’m being fed.

Speaking of finding quiet, it’s super hard to remember that my time is not my own. I mean this in reference to having a husband. It’s been interesting to figure out how to utilize the time we have together to be praying or reading together but also giving each other alone time. It’s fun to do all of this together.

I enjoy Eric a lot.

