I used to always answer the question “What are your hobbies?” with “O I like to read and watch movies and hang out with friends…” My new answer is “I still like to read and spend time with friends; I also enjoy weight lifting, cooking, and……..swing dancing!!” Eric and I had a great time at our date night at the Chateau St. Croix last Friday night. Here are some highlights:

Had to entertain ourselves during the bus ride down somehow...

At our table

Our drink of choice...we thought we would artistically show how odd we must have looked to everyone!

Dancing time!!

And we explored a lot…

We now have lots of random pictures like this thanks to my awesome photo-taking husband=)

I also just finished reading “Renovation of the Heart” by Willard this week. Not only is this the first LDI book we have completed, but this book has given me a ton of things to think about and process through. The premise of the book is that every dimension of human beings must undergo spiritual formation-turn from sin and selfishness towards Christ (in thoughts, will, feelings, social context, soul, and body). It’s a fantastic book that will honestly just rip your life a part. You should read it. Seriously, you can borrow mine. As I have processed through what it is that God would have me take away right now is the continual transformation of my mind. There’s a lot behind that, which I won’t go into here, but the practical side is a big purpose of this blog so I’m going to share. I want to spend more time recalling and processing through what God is doing in my life and where he is taking me. I too easily set aside what I learn in order to focus on the “real” things like homework but that is SO missing the point! So, at least once a week…hopefully more often than that…I am going to reflect upon what God is teaching me through classes, relationships, and my personal time with him and how I can apply those truths. I’m doing this because I am tired of writing off my sin as “that’s just how my mind works” as if God is not big enough to give me an entirely new mind.

My God is big…real big. And he is the only one that can take on the monster inside each one of us.

“If then you have been raised with Christ, seek the things that are above, where Christ is, seated at the right hand of God. 2 Set your minds on things that are above, not on things that are on earth. 3For you have died, and your life is hidden with Christ in God. 4When Christ who is your[a] life appears, then you also will appear with him in glory.” Colossians 3:1-4

