Who knows if we will actually have traditions. I always thought we did as a Wobbema family but really, we didn’t. I think the only “tradition” I still hold on to is watching White Christmas. It’s not Christmas without Bing Crosby (well….that’s not true. But I do enjoy his voice).

This Thanksgiving, Eric and I get to spend time as our own little family here in the Cities. We were in North Dakota last weekend celebrating my dad so we now don’t have to travel over the holiday! We are thankful for rest around here. Last night I came home from class to a beautifully clean home and dinner on the table, we watched a movie, went to bed early, slept in (8:00!!!), watched a Mars Hill sermon and now we are relaxing. By relaxing I mean Eric is enjoying some computer games and I am writing this while the apple crisp bakes. We get to go to my new friend Sarah’s house to eat Thanksgiving dinner with her wonderful family.

Here are some fun pictures of what I’m bring to Sarah’s today:

One of my favorite Holiday drinks from my mom, Russian Tea

It’s my first time making Apple Crisp!

(check out that non-cluttered tabletop! My husband is amazing…I was leaving it as a Christmas break project!)

I’m also making a rice side dish with asparagus and corn and bringing my favorite–canned cranberry sauce!

We get to use our new serving tray dish for the first time, too!

There is so much to be thankful for this year. I can’t help but praise God for the overflow of blessings he has given us.

“And all these blessings shall come upon you and overtake you, if you obey the voice of the Lord your God.”
–Deuteronomy 28:3

We serve a God who desires to give good gifts to his children. The idea of being overtaken by his blessings is giving me so much joy today. It’s been a good week and a half of thinking back through what God has done in just 4 months of marriage. Being in LDI at the same time, it’s almost as if Eric and I are on a fast-track. We read a book before we got married that talked about how the purpose of marriage is less about happiness and more about holiness…we definitely feel that and as LDI opens me up more and more to the areas of my life that need Jesus, I see God bringing Eric and I closer and closer to each other. It is an amazing experience to do life with Eric. I have never felt more full. Jesus sustains, heals, and sanctifies us in ways I never imagined would be satisfying. His words are true, “…I came that they may have life and have it abundantly” (John 10:10b) Realizing that Jesus is the only true life we will ever experience leads to true freedom.

Happy Thanksgiving, from Eric and I.

“These things I have spoken to you, that my joy may be in you, and that your joy may be full.” –John 15:11

