It’s the end of Day One of the Gospel Coalition Women’s Conference. I highly doubt I’ll be able to blog during the weekend here but from what God is already causing me to think through before the pre-conference has even started is incredible. Praying God would help my brain stay alert and active through all the speakers and provide time for good reflection and processing afterward.

Being here with Kendra and Adrienne has made it especially great.  I feel like I learned great things from Tim Keller, John Piper, D.A. Carson, and Kendra Dahl today and can’t wait to see what I learn tomorrow. And Adrienne is just way too cute to not love being around. She got so many looks and compliments today. We are thankful for her smiling and giggling.

Here’s one highlight of something I’m thinking through:

Kendra and I have had a few conversations about the role of women in the church and complimentarianism versus egalitarianism. So often women blog about how offensive the word “submission” is and get all worked up about it and the idea of a men being the head leaders in a church. Today we heard a talk about marriage with a Gospel focus by Tim and Kathy Keller where Kathy pointed out something very cool that I had never thought about before: Both men and women in marriage have a chance to play the role of Jesus. Men by their headship and women by their submission. Isn’t that beautiful? I am blown away by how Eric displays Christ for me and now once again by the idea of my getting to do that for him as well. Just in a way that coincides with who God made me to be as a wife. We are all “sons” of God (Galatians 3:26) in that we are all at the same status as heirs. We are equal. So as a wife, I make the choice to submit–out of my response to the Gospel where Jesus’ death and resurrection makes me a child of God. And because of that Paul can continue on and say, “There is neither Jew nor Gentile, neither slave nor free, nor is there male and female, for you are all one in Christ Jesus (verse 28).” We are not defined by our roles. We accept them willingly–living out of the Gospel that has been given to us by the grace of God.

I’m so thankful for this new way to praise God for the understanding of himself and his relationship to Christ through my marriage. It’s beautiful. Jesus is equally God with the Father. And yet he chose to submit himself to the will of the Father so as to save us from or sin and give us the gift of eternal life. And every. day. I have the choice to submit to Eric and live out a reminder of the life of Christ. By the grace of God and the work of the Holy Spirit I can serve my family and bring glory to God.

I’m looking forward to another day and a half of this. My brain is mushy already but hopefully my pen will keep up well enough. I’m still blown away that I even get to be here. Yay for a conference full of women celebrating and growing in their knowledge and faith in the Gospel.

