I’m writing a series for the 31 days of October. Read the first 9 days by clicking here or clicking on the button to the left.

Day 10: Colossians 1:9-14

And so, from the day we heard, we have not ceased to pray for you, asking that you may be filled with the knowledge of his will in all spiritual wisdom and understanding, 10 so as to walk in a manner worthy of the Lord, fully pleasing to him, bearing fruit in every good work and increasing in the knowledge of God. 11 May you be strengthened with all power, according to his glorious might, for all endurance and patience with joy, 12 giving thanks to the Father, who has qualified you to share in the inheritance of the saints in light. 13 He has delivered us from the domain of darkness and transferred us to the kingdom of his beloved Son, 14 in whom we have redemption, the forgiveness of sins.

Qualified.
Delivered.
Transferred.

Without Jesus Christ, none of those things could happen. He is our redeemer. We cannot redeem ourselves because we cannot offer anything that would cancel out the debt we owe. Who but God alone can forgive sins?

Whether I realize it or not, much of my time is spent trying to be good enough. The truth of the matter is that I will never be good enough…even if I go an hour without sinning. Walking in a manner worthy of the Lord can only happen because he has made me worthy. Jesus came so that we could receive life when we deserve death.

This is a highly necessary repetition. I need it again even this morning when I give my husband the last of the soup wishing there was enough for both of us…I do not get a gold star for the action. What was my heart behind it? Did I do it out of the love and sacrifice that has been done for me or so I could build up points and earn that love?

The love is there. The sacrifice already happened. Now I can choose to live in a manner worthy of receiving it because I have already received it.

Already. I want to live out of the already.

