Read the previous 12 days of this 31 day blogging series here.

Day 13: Psalm 147:11

“The Lord takes pleasure in those who fear him, in those who hope in his steadfast love.”

God delights in his children. The Bible also says that we are to love the Lord our God with all our heart, soul, mind and strength. We can do that when we recognize who God really us — an infinite, all-powerful Creator wants us enough to die. Heck, to go through the frustration of pursuing people who so often want nothing to do with him until life gets difficult. Yet, he delights in us. And we are to delight in him. While thinking about this concept, I came across an old Desiring God blog post on the subject. Here’s an excerpt I found interesting:

Therefore, when we say God rejoices in our thinking and feeling and doing what is right, we mean that he delights in our seeing, savoring, and showing his own supreme value. God values our valuing him. God delights in our delighting in him.

As I thought about this, I realized how I have experienced this as a parent. Last night I gave Frey a bath and let her splash around in the water instead of leaving her in her chair. She. loved. it. O my goodness, I’m pretty sure I witnessed the moves she used to pull while still in my uterus. Up until this point, she always looked like she was merely tolerating bath time. Now, she was enjoying it. And while I was not feeling very cheerful at the beginning, her enjoyment made my heart explode. I love spending time with Frey in pretty much any context — even the middle of the night. But it’s the moments when she is fussing and as soon as I pick her up she nestles into my shoulder and falls asleep that bring me the most joy. She finds comfort in me. She feels safe with Eric and I.

These characteristics remind me so much of Scripture. David repeatedly describes God in this fashion throughout the Psalms. How beautiful to be able to catch a glimpse of how my Father feels about me. And it’s a good reminder that I am most comforted, safe, and joyful when I am looking to Him for those things because I’m his and he delights in giving good gifts to his children.

I wouldn’t have thought of that time in the bath tub as a gift. But isn’t it? How many things do we see as commonplace and fail to take delight in the gifts from our Father?

